Among the backpacker crowd I met prior to arriving in Hong Kong, there seemed to be a general consensus on the city.  It’s a great place but there isn’t lots to see.  Hong Kong seems to be a place best discovered by wandering the streets, finding a Dai Pai Dong (street food restaurant) and parking yourself there while you enjoy the local food, sip on a cold beer or milk tea and watch the people go by.

Dim Sum

No visit to Hong Kong is complete without enjoying Dim Sum.  Our hostel organized a dinner at Tim Ho Wan, where we stuffed ourselves full of pork buns, dumplings, noodles and sweet cakes.  All for $10 CAD a person!

IMG_20170620_200449

Egg Waffle

Also referred to as an egg puff, I’ve already had two of these delightfully sweet pull apart waffles that sell for about HKD $15 (CAD $2.50).

IMG_20170620_164727

“Luncheon Meat” and Sausages on Rice

Intrigued by the name more than anything I decided to give this dish a try at one of the Dai Pai Dongs near the base of the escalator on Hong Kong Island.  I’m quite certain that “Luncheon Meat” is what we would call SPAM in North America, and the sausages were fried up hot dogs, but it was delicious nonetheless.  While certainly not the healthiest meal I’ve enjoyed on this trip I would have it again.  Yesterday, I enjoyed the beef brisket on rice which was equally tasty and probably better for my heart!

IMG_20170621_134958

Iced Milk Tea

While Taiwan is known for their bubble tea, Hong Kong is all about the milk tea.  The local concoction of black tea, condensed or evaporated milk and sugar has quickly become my go to beverage to cool down in the Hong Kong heat. Found almost everywhere, Wikipedia says that Hong Kongers (of which there are about 7.3 million) consume over 900 million cups of this stuff a year.

IMG_20170621_134740

Buns

Before I left Toronto, I was known to indulge in a coconut bun from the Chinese bakery for breakfast more often than I care to admit.  Naturally, I stumbled in to a bakery to take refuge from the thundershowers and was excited by the huge selection.  I opted for a pineapple coconut bun this time around, but there were no shortage of sweet and savoury options.

